Skip to content

A child’s guide to cursing

May 8, 2015

A few years back, my stepdaughter was visiting the lot where Carolyn and I would build our home. As she stepped out of her SUV, holding her own infant daughter close, I warned: “be careful — there is dog shit around.” She quickly clapped her hands over my granddaughter’s dainty ears, and rebuked me for saying such a thing in front of an infant. Which seemed a bit funny, for an infant who hadn’t yet spoken first words. Now that she is a few years older, there is the real risk my granddaughter might borrow any blue language that leaves my lips. San Francisco mom Kathryn Leehane has penned the rules of swearing for children. They won’t help my granddaughter, who is being raised far too properly for that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2015 9:27 am

    This is too funny. I sent to my kids and I said you always keep us up-to-date 😉

  2. May 8, 2015 4:52 pm

    She says: “Technically, those strong words are called profanities.” Actually, no (not necessarily). Profanity refers specifically to the profane (that is, not taking the “holy” sufficiently seriously). Obscenity refers to sex acts, and vulgarity refers to certain bodily functions. “Jesus Christ on a stick!” is profane. “Fuck you” is obscene, and “Oh, shit” is vulgar. Of course, you can mix them: “Fuckin’ Jesus on a shit stick!”

Leave a Reply

